Fermeture
À partir du 1er novembre. Réouverture au printemps 2020

EILEEN GRAY

Between 1926 and 1929, when she built the villa with her partner the architect Jean Badovici (1893-1956), the name of this holiday home they designed together was derived from the interlinking of their initials: E for Eileen, 10 for the J of Jean, 2 for the B of Badovici, 7 for the G of Gray, the name of the villa thus interweaves their initials.

EILEEN GRAY

(1878 - 1976)

9 August 1878. Kathleen Eileen Moray born at Brownswood Manor, in Ireland, in the County of Wexford, near Enniscorthy.

In 1900, her mother takes her to Paris to see the World Fair.

1901-02, she leaves for London where she attends the Slade School of Fine Arts, a painting school for high society youngsters. The following year she goes to Paris to study drawing and enrols at the Atelier Colarossi and later the Académie Jullian.

In 1905, Eileen returns to London to look after her mother. There she discovers Chinese lacquer work at D Charles’s restoration workshop where she is immediately taken on as an apprentice

In 1907, she moves into an 18th century apartment at 21 rue Bonaparte in Paris, which she was to keep until the end of her life.

In 1909, she travels to Morocco with Evelyn Wyld, a childhood friend, with the aim of learning how to make rugs in the da Silva Bruhns style. Shortly afterwards she sets up her Parisian workshop in rue Visconti.

In 1913, she exhibits her lacquer work at the Salon des Artistes décorateurs (SAD).

In 1914, the couturier Jacques Doucet buys her four-panelled screen ’Le destin’, and subsequently orders various items of furniture.

In 1920, during a journey to Mexico, Eileen visits Teotihuacan (a plan of which was to feature in one of her Mediterranean houses.)

In 1922, she opens her boutique, the gallery Jean Désert, at 217, rue du Faubourg-Sant-Honoré in Paris, opposite the Salle Pleyel. Exhibiting her work at the Autumn Salon she meets Robert Mallet-Stevens who orders a rug and some furniture for the Villa des Noailles he was building at Hyères.

In 1923, she is invited to the 14th exhibition of the Society of Decorators where she presents Bedroom for Monte Carlo (or Hall 1922). The same year Léonce Rosenberg submits to the Galerie de l’Effort Moderne an exhibition devoted to Dutch architecture. This may have been when Eileen met the young architect of Romanian origin Jean Badovici.

In 1924, Pierre Chareau invites Eileen Gray to exhibit her work at his stand at the SAd. The Dutch periodical ’Wendingen’ (turning-points) which was close to the de Stijl movement, devotes an article to Eileen Gray with an introduction by Jan Wils and an article by Jean Badovici.

In 1926, 'House for an engineer’ forms just a part of her projected work. At Cap Martin, Roquebrune, she buys a plot of land in Badovici’s name and starts to work using models and plans. She studies topography, the sun’s trajectory and the direction of the winds.

In 1926-1929, she supervises work in progress on the building of her villa at Roquebrune Cap-Martin for which she has a few items of furniture sent down from her Jean Désert gallery. She designs new items for the villa, some of which are built into the walls. A gifted improviser, she designs some highly practical dual-function foldaway items. When his work as editor of his Paris-based periodical allows, Jean Badovici comes down to advise her. The villa is called E-1027: E for Eileen, 10 for the J of Jean as the 10th letter of the alphabet, 2 for the B of Badovici, and 7 for the G of Gray.

In 1930, following the 1929 economic crisis, she closes her boutiques (Jean Désert and rue Guénégaud). E-1027 gets top billing in the very first issue of L’Architecture d’aujourd’hui.

In 1932, along the road to Castellar in the Alpes Maritimes, Eileen Gray, this time without Badovici’s help, starts work on a second house, ’a house of her own’, which takes two years to complete.

In 1934, she designs furniture for this house which she has just completed.

In 1937, she submits to Le Corbusier’s ’Au pavillon des Temps nouveaux’ her design for a holiday and leisure centre incorporating prefabricated and knock-down bungalows.

In the years 1946-1947, Eileen Gray turning her attention to the problems of the time, starts work on a cultural and social centre and draws up a project for a Workers’ Club

In 1956, Jean Badovici dies in Monaco.

In 1960, Villa E-1027 is sold to Mrs Schelbert, a relative of Le Corbusier whom he brought over from Switzerland.

In 1972 the screen Le Destin from Jacques Doucet’s collection is auctioned off at Drouot’s for a record price, helping Eileen Gray and her work to be rediscovered. She is named Royal Designer for Industry in England

In 1973, RiBA (Royal Institute of British Architects) organises a retrospective of her work in London, an itinerant  exhibition is held in the United States and she is elected Honorary Fellow in Ireland.

On 31 October 1976, Eileen Gray dies in Paris.

In 1999, Villa E-1027 becomes a listed building

MenuFermer le menu

EILEEN GRAY

Entre 1926 et 1929, lorsqu’elle construit la villa avec son compagnon l’architecte Jean Badovici (1893-1956), le nom de cette maison de vacances imaginée à deux naît de l’imbrication de leurs initiales : « E pour Eileen, 10 du J de Jean, 2 du B de Badovici, 7 du G de Gray », le nom de la villa imbrique leurs initiales.

EILEEN GRAY

(1878 - 1976)

9 août 1878. Naissance de Kathleen Eileen Moray en Irlande, dans le comté de Wexford, près d’Enniscorthy dans le manoir de Brownswood.

En 1900, sa mère l’emmène à Paris visiter l’exposition universelle.

En 1901-02, elle part à Londres où elle fréquente la Slade school of fine arts, école de peinture pour jeunes gens de la high society. L’année suivante, elle se rend à Paris pour étudier le dessin et s’inscrit à l’atelier Colarossi puis à l’Académie Jullian.

En 1905, Eileen Gray rentre soigner sa mère à Londres. Elle y découvre la laque chinoise de l’atelier de restauration de D. Charles où elle est aussitôt acceptée comme apprentie.

En 1907, elle s’installe 21 rue Bonaparte à Paris, dans un appartement du XVIIe siècle qu’elle conservera toute sa vie.

En 1909, elle voyage au Maroc avec Evelyn Wyld, une amie d’enfance, dans le but d’apprendre à fabriquer des tapis à l’instar de Da Silva Bruhns. Peu après, elle installe son atelier parisien rue Visconti.

En 1913, elle expose ses laques au Salon des Artistes Décorateurs.

En 1914, le couturier Jacques Doucet lui achète son paravent à quatre feuilles « le destin ». Par la suite, il lui commande différentes pièces de mobilier.

En 1920, lors d’un voyage au Mexique, Eileen Gray visite notamment Teotihuacan (dont un plan figurera dans l’une de ses maisons méditerranéennes.)

En 1922, elle inaugure sa boutique, la galerie Jean Désert, au 217, rue du faubourg-Saint-Honoré à Paris, face la salle Pleyel. Exposant au salon d’automne, elle y rencontre Robert Mallet-Stevens qui lui commande un tapis et un meuble pour la villa des Noailles qu’il construit à Hyères.

En 1923, elle est invitée à la XIV e exposition de la Société des artistes décorateurs (SAD) et présente chambre à coucher pour Monte-Carlo (ou hall 1922). La même année, Léonce Rosenberg présente à la galerie de l’Effort moderne une exposition consacrée à l’architecture hollandaise. C’est peut-être à cette occasion qu’Eileen Gray rencontre le jeune architecte d’origine roumaine Jean Badovici.

En 1924, Pierre Chareau invite Eileen Gray à exposer des objets dans son stand de la s.a.d. La revue hollandaise, « Wendingen » (en français « tournant Décisif ») qui est proche du mouvement de Stijl, consacre un numéro à Eileen Gray avec une introduction de Jan Wils et un article de Jean Badovici.

En 1926, « maison pour un ingénieur » ne fait encore partie que de son œuvre projetée. C’est au Cap-Martin, à Roquebrune, qu’elle choisit un terrain qu’elle achète au nom de Badovici, et commence à travailler à partir de maquettes et de plans. Elle étudie la topographie, la trajectoire du soleil et le sens des vents.

En 1926-1929, elle suit le chantier de la villa de Roquebrune Cap-Martin pour laquelle elle fait venir quelques meubles de la galerie Jean Désert. Elle en conçoit de nouveaux pour la villa et certains sont intégrés dans les murs. Douée d’un sens pratique, elle élabore une sorte de « mobilier de camping », escamotable et souvent à double fonction. Jean Badovici vient la conseiller quand son travail de rédacteur en chef parisien lui en laisse le temps.

En 1929, suite à la crise économique , elle ferme ses boutiques (Jean Désert et la rue Guénégaud). E-1027 a les honneurs du tout premier numéro de « L’Architecture d’aujourd’hui ».

En 1932, au bord de la route qui mène à Castellar dans les Alpes Maritime, Eileen Gray commence, cette fois sans l’aide de Badovici, la construction d’une seconde maison, « une maison à soi », qui nécessitera deux années de travaux.

En 1934, elle conçoit des meubles pour cette maison qu’elle vient de terminer.

En 1937, elle présente au Pavillon des Temps nouveaux de Le Corbusier, son projet de Centre de vacances et de loisirs intégrant des bungalows préfabriqués et démontables.

Dans les années 1946-1947, Eileen Gray qui s’attelle à la recherche de solutions face aux problèmes sociaux de son époque, commence à travailler sur un Centre culturel et social et elle élabore le projet d’un Club ouvrier.

En 1956, Jean Badovici meurt à Monaco.

En 1960, La villa E-1027 est vendue à Mme Schelbert, une relation de Le Corbusier qu’il fait venir de Suisse.

En 1972, le paravent « Le destin » de la collection Jacques Doucet est vendu aux enchères à un prix record à l’hôtel des ventes de Drouot, ce qui contribue à faire redécouvrir Eileen gray et son œuvre. elle est nommée Royal designer for industry en Angleterre.

En 1973, elle a droit à une rétrospective du RIBA (Royal Institute of Architects) à Londres, à une exposition itinérante aux Etats-Unis et elle est élue Honorary Fellow en irlande.

Le 31 octobre 1976, Eileen Gray meurt à Paris.

En 1999, la villa E-1027 est classée comme Monument Historique.

MenuFermer le menu